Hall of Fame and Rising Star Awards

Hall of Fame

Created in 1993, the Landmarks of Excellence Communicators Hall of Fame is designed to honor those local professionals who have made a lasting difference in the fields of public relations and communications. The contributions of inductees are a tribute to the impact of the individual, working in a profession that serves many. The professional stature and ethics of every inductee welcomed into the Hall of Fame is and should be far above the norm. Each recipient has achieved real results in his or her professional life and has repeatedly demonstrated exceptional talent, dedication, insight and commitment. This award is co-sponsored by the International Association of Business Communicators (Kentucky Chapter) and the Public Relations Society of America (Bluegrass Chapter).

2016 Hall of Fame Nomination Form


Past Hall of Fame honorees and their year of induction are as follows:

  • 1993 – Charles B. Castner, Carrington W. Fox, John R. “Jack” Guthrie
  • 1994 – William F. Loader, Charlotte S. Tharp, Rod Wenz
  • 1995 – Calvin D. Anderson, Park Trammel
  • 1996 – John V. Blalock, Joseph S. Deiss, J. Randall Neely
  • 1997 – Robert B. Irvine
  • 1999 – Dave Caudill
  • 2000 – Hal Griffin
  • 2001 – Dan Ison, Jeannie Litterst Vezeau
  • 2002 – Linda McGinity Jackson, Richard F. “Rick” Mayes
  • 2003 – Dan Hicks, Chip Keeling
  • 2004 – Rebecca Simpson, Larry L. Smith
  • 2005 – Dan Burgess, Philip J. Lynch
  • 2006 – John Hindman, H.J. Bud Schardein
  • 2007 – Rande Swann
  • 2008 – Patti Hobbs, Tom Howell, William E. Thompson
  • 2009 – Trish Burke
  • 2010 – Marilyn Markwell
  • 2011 - Dan Hartlage
  • 2012 - Dr. Russ Barclay
  • 2013 – C.J. Parrish
  • 2014 – No Inductee
  • 2015 – Matt Kamer


Rising Star

The  Landmarks of Excellence Rising Star Award was created in 2015 and is designed to honor the next generation of professionals in the fields of public relations and communications. Charissa Acree, Tracy Green and Gary Stinson were recognized as the 2015 Rising Stars.

2016 Rising Star Nomination Form